Mount St. Helens National Monument
News and News Reports



Television news crews and other media representatives watch and wait at the Castle Lake Viewpoint on Highway 504 in mid-October 2004 to record any visible seismic activity from Mount St. Helens.

NEWS SOURCES

Government Agencies

Gifford Pinchot National Forest

News Media


Gifford Pinchot National Forest

Special Conditions & Recreation Information.

News Media

CNN

Mount St. Helens shoots steam, ash plume into air
Tuesday, May 30, 2006; Posted: 10:19 a.m. EDT (14:19 GMT)

Mount St. Helens releasing lava at astonishing pace
Friday, December 30, 2005; Posted: 8:43 p.m. EST (01:43 GMT)

Scientists seek source of Mount St. Helens blastst
Wednesday, March 9, 2005 Posted: 11:43 AM EST (1643 GMT)

New lava dome grows inside Mount St. Helens
Formation's hot rocks cast red glow visible at night
Saturday, November 6, 2004 Posted: 5:36 PM EST (2236 GMT)

Molten rock reaches volcano's surface
Tuesday, October 12, 2004 Posted: 3:26 PM EDT (1926 GMT)

Nation's newest glacier growing in volcano's crater
Tuesday, October 12, 2004 Posted: 10:41 AM EDT (1441 GMT)

Alert level dropped for Mount St. Helens
Geologists: Small-scale venting could last for weeks
Wednesday, October 6, 2004 Posted: 1:24 PM EDT (1724 GMT)

Weather may cloud Mount St. Helens monitoring
Tuesday, October 5, 2004 Posted: 9:44 AM EDT (1344 GMT)

Mount St. Helens lets off steam
Plume rises an estimated 10,000 feet above volcano
Monday, October 4, 2004 Posted: 1:43 PM EDT (1743 GMT)

At Mount St. Helens, a waiting game
Volcanic eruption hard to predict, geologist says
Monday, October 4, 2004 Posted: 11:48 AM EDT (1548 GMT)
Bulge between glacier, lava dome in Mount St. Helens crater appears to be pushing up dome Sunday.

Tension builds at Mount St. Helens
Hundreds of visitors cleared from area
Sunday, October 3, 2004 Posted: 12:30 PM EDT (1630 GMT)

USGS: Mount St. Helens could erupt within 24 hours
Observatory 3 miles from volcano's base evacuated
Saturday, October 2, 2004 Posted: 6:58 PM EDT (2258 GMT)

Mount St. Helens blows smoke, ash
Friday, October 1, 2004 Posted: 4:02 PM EDT (2002 GMT)

Scientist: Mount St. Helens likely to erupt
Thursday, September 30, 2004 Posted: 2:21 PM EDT (1821 GMT)

'Volcanic advisory' issued for Mount St. Helens
Thursday, September 30, 2004 Posted: 11:29 AM EDT (1529 GMT)

Oregon Live.com, affiliate of The Oregonian.
Experts predict Mount St. Helens eruption
9/30/2004, 10:36 a.m. PT

Northwest Cable News

Mount St. Helens erupts
09:03 AM PST on Wednesday, March 9, 2005

Seattle Post-Intelligencer

Volcano shoots steam, ash plume into air
Monday, May 29, 2006 Last updated 10:12 p.m. PT

St. Helens puts on a show for the faithful
Huge plume of steam rewards sightseers, could herald big blast
Tuesday, October 5, 2004

Crowds enjoy show at Mount St. Helen
Monday, October 4, 2004 Last updated 5:06 p.m. PT

Scientists fear aftermath of eruption
Monday, October 4, 2004 Last updated 7:21 a.m. PT

Tense wait at St. Helens
Thousands of people travel to see volcano, hoping for a show
Monday, October 4, 2004

St. Helens warning is raised: 'Small to moderate steam and ash eruption' called most likely
Thursday, September 30, 2004

The Seattle Times

Big burst from St. Helens
By Sandi Doughton and Nick Perry, Seattle Times staff reporter
Wednesday, March 9, 2005 - Page updated at 08:28 a.m

Mount St. Helens blows off steam, ash
Tuesday, October 05, 2004 - Page updated at 01:19 P.M.

Volcano devotees keep watch
Local News: Tuesday, October 05, 2004

Go Northwest!    gonorthwest.com (tm)

Go Northwest! gonorthwest.com (tm) and GoNorthwest.com (tm) are trademarks of Go Northwest, LLC
All original text, maps, photographs, and other images on this web site, as well as the compilation and design thereof, are
Copyright 1997-2014 Go Northwest, LLC.   All rights reserved.

Revised: