Suquamish, Washington

Chief Seattle's Grave. Seattle was named for Suquamish Chief Sealth, who came to be known as Chief Seattle. The grave site is behind St. Peter's Catholic Church in the Suquamish Memorial Cemetery. The gravesite, dated 1866, overlooks Puget Sound and has painted canoes above the headstone to honor him. The church was built in 1902 to replace the one built in 1871 by missionary Father Francis Blanchet. Doors and windows from the original building are incorporated into the current structure. Walking distance from downtown Suquamish and the Chief Seattle Days celebration.

Old Man House State Park. A one- acre park with 210 feet of saltwater frontage. Located on the site of the home of Chief Seattle, the structure was typical of the construction used by the Suquamish Tribe. The original structure reportedly housed eight great Indian Chiefs and their families. The name Old Man House is a derivative of the Indian word "o-le-man," meaning strong man. A heritage interpretation in a display shelter depicts the story of Chief Seattle. The park has two unsheltered picnic sites, one with a fire ring available first-come, first-served.

Suquamish Museum. 15838 Sandy Hook Road, PO Box 490, Suquamish, WA 98392. Phone: 360-598-3311, ext. 422.

Inhabitants of Puget Sound for over 15,000 years, the Suquamish document their history through legends and song. Internationally acclaimed by the Smithsonian Institute, the museum features historical and cultural displays of Puget Sound Indian life. Experience for yourself the texture of woven cedar and the mastery of the carved grease bowl. Smell smoked salmon. Browse through the art gallery and gift shop. Walk the nature trail or peaceful beach. Enjoy a picnic lunch overlooking Agate Pass.

Go Northwest! (tm)

Go Northwest! (tm) and (tm) are trademarks of Go Northwest, LLC
All original text, maps, photographs, and other images on this web site, as well as the compilation and design thereof, are
Copyright 1997-2017 Go Northwest, LLC.   All rights reserved.